Dr. Ganesan Abbu

I feel truly privileged to be asked to contribute to this endeavour and a touch embarrassed when I consider the many wonderfully talented people that I work with.

In 1998, my wife and I decided to leave South Africa and settle in Winkler, Manitoba. We have since lived and grown with this community. Our then 5 doctor clinic now boasts a multidisciplinary team of over 40 physicians.

As a rural family doctor, I practise in a variety of clinical settings. Our current needs in anesthesia means that I spend less time in clinic and in the ER.

As a family physician, it has always been my goal to strive for excellence in my professional development whilst caring for my patients with genuine compassion and empathy. I try to exemplify these ideals in all areas of my practice.

This variety of practice types allows me the privilege of looking at health issues and system dynamics from different perspectives. This has enabled me to perform practice changing clinical audits and to be engaged in teaching about important issues such as Sepsis and Antimicrobial Stewardship.

It would seem only natural then, to give expression to my desire for meaningful change and venture into a whole new world of digital technology. To this end I have created PreOpSys and launched a website called SMART. The former is a tool that, in less than 30 seconds, generates only the appropriate tests required for routine pre-op testing whilst SMART (smartabx.ca) is an iterative website to promote Antimicrobial Stewardship.

Perhaps the most important lesson that I have learnt from my years in Family Medicine is the liberating belief, that there are no barriers to striving for excellence in our desire to provide the very best for our patients and to society!

 

DSCN3884

Leave a Reply

